2014 – A Year for The Polylinguist in Me

Hey you! πŸ™‚ How’s the 2nd day of a new year going?

I have always enjoyed learning new languages. I think some of that can be attributed to all the shifting around we (family) did since my childhood. From place to place, meeting and befriending people of the region, I have tried to grasp bits of words and phrases. If my memory served better I would have been able to speak in around 4 Indian languages now. But as we moved on, new languages made way and disuse of others resulted in forgetting. I can still understand them just not speak very fluently.

This year in college for extra credit course I picked Spanish. So far its been real fun! For fluent English speakers, Spanish is very easy to learn as long as you can memorise the grammar rules and vocabulary. But then again that’s a given for any language. I would most probably continue with learning Spanish even after the course is over. Maybe try out one of the advance courses online. People often ask the question is it easier than so-so language or not. I feel as long as you are interested in any language, it naturally becomes more easy. Ofcourse you need to work hard, but if you put your mind into it, nothing is really that difficult. Like the saying, “If there is a will then there is a way. ” So I should be able to converse in Spanish by the time we approach the end of 2014, atleast basics.

I have also been learning Korean by myself for a few months. Right now I am not making much progress but once my summer break starts in April I would have a lot more time to focus on Korean. As of now I can say the Hello-Hi phrases, introduce myself, ask and respond to general questions. But I don’t think too great of that. And also the fact that there is so much I don’t know makes me kind of shy to talk in another language. I feel that as long as I haven’t perfected or atleast come close to perfecting a language, I wouldn’t feel comfortable talking to someone who is fluent. πŸ˜› Probably a weird notion, but yeah!

Another thing being I watch the TV show called ‘Witches of East End’. If you know anything about it you probably would have figured out what I am talking about. The hunger to know more languages has me incessantly typing out Latin words (from the show) into Google Translator. A little silly, I know, after all who am I going to talk to in Latin. Nevertheless I try to learn what I can.

You see, I have a lot in mind for 2014. Hopefully at the end of it, I would have mastered one of these languages. I know, I most probably will πŸ™‚ Oh and also I just re-read my post, I am not as crazy as this post may seem to you πŸ˜€

Mia

What do you think?

