Facing Your Fears.

When we were little, there was so much to fear. So many absurd thoughts to haunt us at night or    maybe even during the day. The boogeyman, wicked witch, scarecrow. At that time it seemed like they would gang up on us. As if the sole purpose of their existence was to terrify us and feed off our fear. They bred in those dark corners of the house where light wouldn’t penetrate that easily. Where shadows were always moving about, creating creepy shapes on the  walls and windows. They thrived in those areas, that we tended to stay clear of. Innocence and ignorance, didn’t help much either. Leaving us to believe in what we see, hear, feel and not what is sane or probably right.

As we grow older, we learn that “there is no such thing as supernatural”. Really? Is there not? Is everything we perceive, a figment of our imagination? A trick of the darkness? For those who believe in science and only that which can be scientifically proved, explained –  it isn’t that difficult to leave these stories behind with the passage of their childhood.
But for those of us open minded people, ready to accept and acknowledge all, it becomes a little too easy to be jumpy at night, in the dark. Achluophobia, fear of the dark, is a very common phobia. Fear of the unexpected, the unknown and what the dark might possess.

Some others are acrophobic (fear of heights) or aerophobic(fear of flying) or arachnophobic (fear of spiders). It takes great courage and determination to get over a phobia. Some achieve that  during their lifetime, others dont. To live with a constant fear dominating our lives and altering our course of action, is to hand over our control strings. Its to become a puppet to something insignificant. There’s no need to bend and give in. We can all work out an alternative solution. We can all learn to escape from the crutches of fearful thoughts. If we look it in the eye, it doesn’t seem that terrifying anymore. Truly. Instead of closing your eyes tight and hoping for the best, you take in your surrounding with your eyes wide open, you have faith in God. And you know that no matter what, you are gradually defeating your fear by doing just that.
By not being afraid.

Mia

2 thoughts on “Facing Your Fears.

  1. Reblogged this on Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover. and commented:
    We all have fears. We have fears that we cannot really get over and these sometimes take their toll on us in a way that we cannot escape from them. These fears send us over the edge of our heightened emotions and we can no longer think clearly. Sometimes I feel this way. Truth be told, I fear the dark. I almost always get this feeling that something is there in the darkness, watching me, waiting for chance to strike out and get me; this unknown presence that sends shivers and fright through me. I still get this feeling whenever I’m up late at night, every other place in the house dark and silent. My fear gets the better of me and puts me in a situation where I just want to escape it all, to just run away from everything. But really, is this because I am just not ready to accept and acknowledge the reality of my fears? I have come to realize that by reacting this way toward my fear of the dark, I am letting this fear of mine muddle with my thoughts and dominate over my life. I do not want that. I do not want to live my life succumbing to my fears when I can find a solution to make all of this feel right again. We can escape from these fearful thoughts if we allow ourselves to stand up for ourselves and accept the reality of things. My solution to overcome any of my fears is to continue to believe in and have faith in God, our Creator, our protector who is always by our side, ready to guide us through every step in our lives. Believing in Him and trusting His will has given me strength and a sense of security and peace. And slowly, I will be able to defeat my fear.

What do you think?

