Poems

A Gift More Precious Than Any Gemstone.

Here’s a little token of gratitude,
Wrapped in loving words
Laced with genuine care,
Sent to the people who keep me bound to happiness.

There’s one, who is tough on the outside,
Sensitive inside and so amiable,
She’d make you feel loved the moment you get to know her.

Her enthusiasm in little things (movies, books, tv shows)
Will give fuel to the spark of interest in you.
Gushing about the latest news updates, rumours,
laughing at our own follies (something I learnt from her)
She soon became an inevitable part of my life.

No day would have gone by so joyously,
without her sarcastic comments and witty repartee.
Behind her sarcasm, theres always been a hint of true friendship
and kindness that’d assure you, she means no offense.

The other, is as chirpy as a little bluebird,
As mischievous as an imp,
And a very considerate friend.

She sought out the new girl (me) on first day of school,
and made her feel like at home.
When the newbie was sitting clueless in class,
she took the initiative and helped.
This new girl couldn’t have been more thankful to God,
For sending such a loving person into her life.

In less than a blink of an eye, we were inseparable!
Sharing our tiffin, trusting each other with the secrets,
Finding common interests (dancing).
A true Drama Queen, she is. But that’s what makes her, HER.
It is what makes her stand out in a crowd. Following her own style.
Chasing dreams and aspirations until they get tired of running away.
Enjoying life to her hearts’ content.
Curly hair framing her face.
And a not-so-subtle birthmark on her cheek, she is one among a million.

These 2 lovelies have been my closest friends for as long as I can remember. Distance has never had an impact on our friendship, and I know it never will.
Even 10000 miles away, I know I am as much a part of the group as,
I was in the early years of bonding.
Even through the ups and downs, we stick together.
Even after arguments we bounce back.
Thank God, for these valuable gems.
These supportive and understanding pair of friends.
(Touchwood)
I don’t know what I would have done without them.
Teasing me with random guys, knowing that it would tick me off and yet enjoying my irritated response.
Cracking jokes just to lighten each others mood. Dealing with each others “grumpy day” and lame jokes.
Like these rubies, diamonds and sapphires embedded in the ring, I hope our friendship is one to last ages. Tightly knit and stuck with feviquick 😉
I hope so.
I really do.

Mia

5 thoughts on “A Gift More Precious Than Any Gemstone.

  1. Mia, this brings back a bunch of great memories. You are such a great writer. I have no words.
    Thank you for writing such a beautiful piece, you captured our school days so well. Love you always :*

What do you think?

